Friday, 13 July 2018

Today : world première of 'Die Vorübergehenden' by Nikolaus Brass in Munich

Today, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich presents the world première of Die Vorübergehenden (The Passers-By), a music theater in two parts and an epilogue, composed by Nikolaus Brass, with a libretto by the composer, using texts by Tomas Tranströmer, Rose Ausländer and Mahmout Darwish.

 (c) Astrid Ackermann

Since 2012, Nikolaus Brass has composed three musical works for the stage : memory (Munich, 2012), sommertag (Munich, 2014) and earth diver (Ruhrtriennale, 2016).
On the journey called life, The Lover is reminded of various experiences and long-suppressed events. The way we deal with the past and our relentless self-questioning lies at the centre of the opera – here, life is seen as a mesh of fleeting encounters and fragmented relationships. (reproduced from the Bavarian State Opera website)
The cast includes baritone Nikolay Borchev (Der Liebende), soprano Sarah Maria Sun (Die Liebende), countertenor Vasily Khoroshev (Der Schatten), bass baritone Wolfgang Newerla (Vater), mezzo Ulrike Helzel (Mutter) and tenor Ilker Arcayürek (Der Flüchtling / Der Reisende). Marie Jacquot conducts a chamber orchestra. Ludger Engels directs.

The required orchestra is the following :

- 2 flutes (also piccolo), 2 oboes (also English horn),  2 clarinets (doubling bass clarinet), 2 saxophones (1. soprano and 2. tenor and baritone) ;
- 1 trumpet, 1 horn, 1 trombone ;
- 2 percussionists, accordion ;
- string quintett.

The score is published by Ricordi.

The performance should last about 1 hour and 40 minutes. The venue is the Reithalle.

No comments:

Post a Comment