Sunday, 5 May 2019

Today : world première of 'M' by Moritz Eggert in Berlin

Today, the Komische Oper in Berlin presents the world première of M - Eine Stadt sucht einen Mörder (M - A City searches for a Murderer), an opera in one act composed by Moritz Eggert with a libretto by Barrie Kosky and Ulrich Lenz based on Fritz Lang's film and using poems by Walter Mehring.

Moritz Eggert has already composed several works the stage, including All diese Tage (Bremen, April 28, 2012), Terra Nova (Linz, May 26, 2016) and Caliban (Amsterdam, March 25, 2017).
The city is up in arms! A serial murderer is on the loose. Several girls have already been found dead. Under great pressure and using all the means at their disposal, the police search for the culprit. And the city’s criminals are also keeping busy, as the increased police activities – which involve raids and house-to-house searches – is bad for business in every sense. And so the murderer, ultimately a victim of his own sick urges, is pursued, hunted and driven to madness by all the city’s thieves, burglars, whores, fences, beggars and con artists. (reproduced from the Komische Oper website)
The cast includes baritone Scott Hendricks (M. the Murderer), soprano Alma Sadé and tenor Tansel Akzeybek. Ainars Rubikis conducts the Orchestra and the Children Chorus of the Komische Oper. Barrie Kosky directs.

The score is published by Sikorski. The required orchestra is the following :

- 1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 1 tenor saxophone, 1 bassoon ;
- 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 2 trombones, 1 tuba ;
- timpani, percussion (2 players), electric guitar, electric bass guitar, 3 keyboards, accordion, celesta (doubling organ and harpsichord) ;
- strings (

(reproduced from the Sikorski website)

No comments:

Post a Comment