Thursday, 17 May 2018

Today : world première of Pascal Zavaro's 'Manga-Café' in Compiègne

Today, the Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne presents the world première of Manga-Café, a chamber opera composed by Pascal Zavaro, with a libretto he wrote himself, based on the manga Densha otoko.

It is the composer's first opera.
Reality, hope or illusion ? Thomas saves from an aggression Makiko, who disappears ... Social networks help him finding her back. The Internet community comments, encourages, or warns Thomas, who ‘took refuge’ behind his computer. What is real ? What is fiction ? Has the love story between Thomas and Makiko really taken place, or is it fantasized ? Can love be virtual ? (freely adapted from the Theatre's and publisher's websites)
It will be performed as the second part of a double-bill performance, following Leonard Bernstein's Trouble in Tahiti.

The cast includes mezzo Eléonore Pancrazi (Thomas), baritone Laurent Deleuil, soprano Morgane Heyse (Makiko), tenor André Gass and baritone Philippe Brocard. Julien Masmondet conducts the Ensemble Les Apaches. Catherine Dune directs.

The score is published by Gérard Billaudot. The required orchestra is the following :

- 1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon ;
- 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 1 trombone ;
- percussion, piano ;
- string quintet.

The opera Manga-Café should last about 45 minutes. After the world première in Compiègne, the opera will be performed in Rochefort (Théâtre de la Coupe d'Or, 23 and 24 May) and in Paris (Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, 8-14 June).

No comments:

Post a Comment